Heavy Haul of Fame

In 1998 the IHHA Board of Directors established an award to recognize eminent and dedicated persons who have contributed significantly to the pursuit of excellence in the fields of engineering, operations, and management of heavy haul railways.

For an individual to be considered for election into the Heavy Haul of Fame that person must meet or exceed the following criteria:

  • A minimum of ten (10) years active involvement in the heavy haul railway industry.

  • A significant contribution to the development by either theory or practice, to heavy haul railway engineering, operations or management.

  • A general recognition by their peers of having in-depth knowledge of heavy haul issues and a willingness to share this knowledge and experience.

  • Leadership and visionary attributes.

  • Outstanding professional and personal character.

Election to the Heavy Haul of Fame is made at the Annual Board of Directors Meeting and the Award Presentation is made at the next IHHA Conference or STS meeting.

The Directors of the IHHA hold the Heavy Haul of Fame recognition as the highest honour it can bestow upon an individual who has been outstanding in the heavy haul railway industry. The IHHA Directors sincerely believe a single individual can make a significant difference and it is appropriate to publicly recognize these accomplishments.

Most men who have really lived have had, in some share, their great adventure. This railway is mine.
— James J. Hill

Best Paper

Beginning with the 2003 STS Meetings in Dallas, Texas the IHHA Board of Directors adopted a “Best Paper” Award to recognise the outstanding presentations made during the conference.

The selection process for IHHA papers is, in itself, a critical procedure which results in very good state-of-the-art presentations that address problems associated with heavy haul issues. However, the board wishes to recognise those papers which are judged to be of the highest value and offer exceptional insight in the subject of the presentation.

The Best Paper Awards were divided into four categories based on the conference structure as follows:

  • Rolling Stock Technology

  • Vehicle/Track Interaction

  • Infrastructure Technology

  • Reliability and Network Efficiency

Selection for Best Paper is made by the current conference committee and is announced in the final session of each conference.

Great things are done when men and mountains meet.
— William Blake